Use FFmpeg to generate missing episode images

Hi guys, Got fedup with tvdb.com not having images for aired episodes…so decided to fix it.
I’m new to coding so please forgive if I appear very stupid:slight_smile:
I’ve spent past days trying to get sonarr to run post processing script which would use FFmpeg to generate a poster for the episode.

I can use a batch D:/Image.bat file to make ffmpeg generate the required image using the following command in batch file:

ffmpeg -ss 100 -i c:/test/mytest_episode_file.mkv -vf "scale='if(gt(dar,400/225),225*dar,400)':'if(gt(dar,400/225),225,400/dar)',setsar=1,crop=400:225"  -frames:v 1 c:/test/mytest_episode_file.jpg

This will generate the image for the episode perfectly.

So now I am trying to get Sonarr to pass the “%Sonarr_EpisodeFile_Path%” to the batch file, without success:(
I thought following would work:

Set File="%Sonarr_EpisodeFile_Path%"

ffmpeg -ss 100 -i %File% -vf "scale='if(gt(dar,400/225),225*dar,400)':'if(gt(dar,400/225),225,400/dar)',setsar=1,crop=400:225"  -frames:v 1 %File%.jpg

In sonarr, connect - custom script.
Path: C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe
Arguments: /c D:\Image.bat

Im sure many people would appreciate such an addon for the community as many eps dont have images for 3-4days after airing.

Thanks to anyone for your help.

Anyone can help me please?

You posted in Third Party Add-ons, if you need assistance you should post in help and support.

All environment variables that Sonarr passes the script are lower-case, but it looks like you’re capitalizing each word.

I changed above too:

Still not working:(

Is %File% set properly? Have you tried logging those variables?

Thanks for the reply Markus:smile:
Im still trying to get it to work but so far Ive manged to nearly complete it with following code:
I’ve install ffmpeg for python here [https://github.com/kkroening/ffmpeg-python]
(https://github.com/kkroening/ffmpeg-python)

#!/usr/bin/python
import os
import sys
import shutil
import subprocess