SOLVED: Arch, Sonarr, NZBGet and file permissions. Want to punch the wall!

Antergos

Couldn’t import episode /TV Shows/NCIS.New.Orleans.S04E01.720p.WEB-DL.DD5.1.H.264-tek54m-postbot/69c04ee5440a44f290db6ffe78611952.mkv: Access to the path is denied.

First off, I’m a dumb Linux newbie. I know the solution to my problem is something really stupid I’m overlooking but after a few hours of pounding my head into the freaking wall, I have no idea how to get this working and need to ask for help.

I installed Plex, Sonarr and NZBGet. Everything is setup and configured (program wise). When I add a show in Sonarr, NZBGet downloads it but I get ‘access denied’ when it attempts to import/rename it.

/TV Shows is owned by ‘gene’ and my account is in the ‘users’ group. I can go into that folder and create/rename/delete whatever.

I have issued the commands to add users; plex, nzbget and sonarr to the ‘users’ group. (By my logic, if these users all belong to the same group as my account, they should be able to interact with the files/folders WITHIN that group that my account belongs to, or not?! My brain is fried right now and my kid is busting my chops NON-STOP to play Mario Kart so I’ve been trying to figure this out and get my head straight to post here so please forgive my ramblings.)

When Sonarr tells NZBGet to grab a show, the show is downloaded and placed in /TV Shows but it never gets renamed and placed into the season folder in that directory. When I right click on the NCIS folder that just downloaded, it has a padlock on it and shows that nzbget is the owner. Sonarr is the owner of the NCIS/Season X folder but it’s empty because Sonarr can’t rename/move it in there.

This is a case of me not being able to see the forest for the trees. If all these users belong to the same group, why can’t they all get along and this all just work?!