Path is already configured as root folder

Hi noob here pulling my hair out - am hoping there is a simple answer I have missed, but for the life of me I don’t get how to proceed.

Everything is generally working for me - but I store all my media on my Unraid server and have decided that with Sonarr I will group my current TV in one folder and have Sonarr monitor that. Previously I have had numerous sub-folders and categories, but I want to simplify things. Now for most of the series, this is fine, however, there are some that my existing episode on the disk will not be recognised by Sonarr.

Say I want to add the series Black Sails. I move the files to the relevant folder on my server and add a new series to Sonarr. I tell it the path \Tower\TV Current\Black Sails and this is accepted. Under this folder are all the Seasons folders and metadata

The series is added,but sonarr doesn’t pick up the existing files. I look at the filepath and it is listed as \Tower\TV Current\Black Sails\Black Sails. If I try to amend it I get the message “Path is already configured as root folder” and it won’t let me change it to \Tower\TV Current\Black Sails.

if I go tot he series editor I get the same “Path is already configured as root folder” error message and I cannot change the file path.

If I delete the series and try re-adding it or adding existing from disk I still get the error message “Path is already configured as root folder” and it refuses to add the series.

Please help - I’m sure there is a simple answer to what this noob is doing wrong.

P.S. Loving Sonarr in general

When you go to Add Existing you need to enter the path that contains your series folders, not a series folder itself, so you would enter: \\Tower\TV Current\

There is a message to that effect at the top of the modal window where you choose the path, but maybe its not clear enough?

I did see that - but if I try to add \Tower\TV Current\ the path is not accepted - I get the same error message