Folder Structure - Import existign library?

Sonarr version: 2.0.0.5338
Mono version: 5.18.0.240
Debug logs: N/A
Description of issue:

I’m a newbie to Sonarr, trying to migrate away from straight Vuze/RSS downloader. I have recently installed Sonarr and I’m trying to import my large existing library. I’m having problems importing and understanding what Sonar expects.

So a little background, what I have is an existing folder structure like:

/data/TV/
        |- Family.Guy
        |- God.Friended.Me.2018
        |- LA.Finest
        |- Last.Man.Standing.2011
        |  |- Last.Man.Standing.US.S04E15.HDTV.x264-2HD.mp4
        |  |- Last.Man.Standing.S05E19.Outdoor.Woman.720p.WEB-DL.DD5.1.H.264-NTb.mkv
        |  |- Last.Man.Standing.S03E15.HDTV.XviD-AFG
        |     |- Last.Man.Standing.S03E15.HDTV.XviD-AFG.avi
        |- Magnum.P.I.2018

As you can see, each series has it’s own folder (whose may be in a different format from the rest), while underneath the video files may be there alone or underneath their own episode directory.
The reason for this is that the episode that is downloaded might be contained in it’s own folder and it may not.
Kodi and Plex have no problem with this and will happily work with both in the same library.

However, when I try to import a series (i.e. Last Man Standing), I’m forced to start a new directory called "Last Man Standing (2011) ". The changes I made to episode naming in Settings | Media Management make no difference. (I don’t like using spaces or special characters in folder names)

When I Manually Import a new series I can only select one episode at a time and have to select the episode folder it is in.

What am I doing wrong??

Bob

Changes made to media management settings only changes how Sonarr renames files, it has no effect on importing series.